year tick

Lunchtime brought a female Blackbird on to the patch year list.  Yes, nearly two months in and that is my first thrush. Not at all common round here don’t you know.  Remember that in all the time I’ve spent on this patch, I can count my Robins on one hand, and have yet to see a Dunnock or a Wren.  Which still feels a bit strange.

Anyhow, with the migration season about to begin in earnest I’m expecting the passerine count to rise considerably but wouldn’t be surprised if the rarer species out number the common, but we’ll see.  Either way, I’m not getting my hopes up on the Wren.

Leave a Reply

