year tick, gurgle

Some recent year ticks.

Blackcap (I can hear it singing as I type)

Chiffchaff (ditto)

Willow Warbler

Red Grouse

Sand Martin

Stock Dove

Reasonably predictable you might think.  The astute reader will be wondering exactly what Norfolk heather moorland I saw the Red Grouse on.  I didn’t.  The even more astute reader will put two and two together, apply Occam’s Razor, and realise that I left Norfolk.  Which I did.  The Grouse in question was seen just south of a place called Penistone.

I repeat, just south of a place called Penistone.

I suspect that the locals pronounce it T’ Pennistun, and no childish giggles would ensue upon reference to said village.  Not in my car.  It was Penis-tone.  And said, just like that, everytime a sign was passed with Penis. Tone. written on it.  Childish I know.

Penis.  Tone.

penistone. gurgle!

 

I’m tempted to move there.

Leave a Reply

