what bird bloggers do in the summer

If you have been reading bird blogs for a while, you will notice the seasonal changes.  It goes a little something like this.

Autumn – wow! Birds are brilliant and my patch is full of migrants and stuff!  I’ll write about it!  It’s windy!

Winter – wow! Birds are brilliant and my patch is full of winter birds and stuff!  I’ll write about it!  It’s cold!

Spring – wow! Birds are brilliant and my patch is full of migrants and stuff!  I’ll write about it!  The days are getting longer!

Summer – Oh, all the summer birds are breeding and I can’t see them for the trees.  Boring.  Have you seen my butterfly/moth  photos?

For the sake of compliance in my little theory, here is another blue butterfly with a massively overexposed background.  I think it is a female blue one, but it would seem that my bug book is a little sexist and doesn’t  like pictures of certain female butterflies.

butterfly doing girly blue

3 thoughts on “what bird bloggers do in the summer

  1. As a bird blogger myself, of a sort, I would like to say that I certainly do not switch to bugspotting. Once the Vernal Equinox has passed, I spend every waking hour spotting car numbers, bus numbers and train numbers. I generally find I get much the same “buzz” out of this as I do when watching our feathered friends and I don’t get my boots covered in cow-muck and such-like. I still carry on writing a load of old crap on my “bird” blog though, just to keep in touch. Best wishes from Ray ( ColdScreen Guards, Retired Hurt)

Leave a Reply

