bus analogies are like buses

I predicted Skua.  If the magic realist patch situation had reared its head again that is what I would be reporting.  It didn’t raise its head, but sort of raised a lazy eyebrow.  Like an amateur Roger Moore or something, so I got a patch tick, but it was a Hobby rather than a Skua, which was nice considering I was trying to seawatch at the time.

So there am I yesterday, wittering on about how Kittiwakes are like buses and then I go back into the patch again today (cos that is what it is about, this patch watching) and lo and behold I get another patch tick!  Which is immensely satisfying Dear Reader.  And then I chuckle to myself about running with the patch tick and bus analogy a bit further for my own amusement and your enduring tedium no doubt.  In another universe, it seems that a blogger who may be known to some of you has made much the same observation in a very similar situation.

There you have it, not only are bird blogs very similar (another topic of ‘discussion’) but the same amusing analogies are independently used to illustrate a similar point.  I’m fairly sure that this is illustrative of very little, but noted nonetheless.

Anyway, the Hobby was chasing a Swift and it was abso-bloody-lutely first class.   You may be hoping for a photo, but from the moment I had it in the bins (close in and being shadowed by a couple of gulls while soaring) until it became a spec in the distance of the optics I couldn’t take my eyes off it for a second. In between this, it had changed from soaring to flat-out in an instant as it chased the almost unchaseable.   Tells you something about the quality of the spectacle I expect.

Leave a Reply

