feathers

I have a jar.  No ordinary jar is this jar.  It is the bug jar.  I use it to catch and mis-identify bugs and moths and butterflies and things like that.  It is also used to catch bugs and moths and butterflies and things that are in the house and are not welcome.  Spiders generally.  And anything else that Mrs Thing takes exception to.  Now there was a moth in the house the other day that had really big feathery antennae.  I took a photo, which was rubbish.  I thought that I would leave it where it was until the light improved, get out the jar and take better photo of it.  With an extreme close up of the feathery antennae.  However, Mrs Thing wanted it ousted (the house would be full of ‘creatures’ if this didn’t happen regularly by the way) and I put it in the jar.  However, I had forgotten that there was a spider in the jar.  It had been there for a few days (awaiting its close up) and had done some webmaking in the jar.  Understandably, when the moth went in the jar and was confronted by a hungry spider and lots of webbing it went spastic.  So I let it go.

Here is a rubbish version of a picture that I didn’t take of a moth with feathery antennae – it is, I believe a male Feathered Thorn Colotois pennaria although it would have been better if it was the Canary-shouldered Thorn, but it isn’t.

a thorn doing feathers

 Cracking eh?  Just imagine how good the better photo would have been…

 

Leave a Reply

